Our Board of Directors

As the supreme governing body of ICARS, the Board of Directors holds both strategic and financial responsibility and brings a wealth of knowledge and expertise to support ICARS’ mission. The current Board of Directors, appointed by the Danish Minister for Health, will operate until the end of 2027.

Board Members

Board Chair
Henrik Wegener

Rector of the University of Copenhagen

Board Member
Isatou Jallow

Founder and Executive Director of Africa Catalyzing Action for Nutrition (AfriCAN)

Board Member
Jimmy Smith

Former Director General at the International Livestock Research Institute (ILRI)

Renu Swarup

Former Secretary to the Government of India, Department of Biotechnology, Ministry of Science & Technology

World Bank Non-Voting Member
Juan Pablo Uribe

Global Director for Health, Nutrition and Population, World Bank

Quadripartite Non-Voting Member
Thanawat Tiensin

Director, Animal Production and Health Division, FAOH